Apparently. Though I haven't the slightest idea how.
I've recieved an email informing me that I've won 250,000 pounds sterling in the UK National Lottery online Sweepstakes International Program. Apparently my email address was randomly chosen an assigned lucky numbers which resulted in me matching 5 (of 6) plus the bonus. It even lists what my numbers were. I just have to fill out a little form included in the text of the email asking Name, Age, Sex, Age again?, Marital Status, Tel/Fax, Address, and Annual Income. Then my winnings will be available for me from their European payment offices.
The sender email is <mrbrianhunt@katamail.com>. Oddly, I would've expected soandso@lottery.co.uk or at least something similar. The form info is to be sent to a different email <steveblake1@hutchcity.com> also not very official sounding. And at the very bottom is a link for http://voice.repubblica.it. Why would the UK National Lottery have a link to an Italian website at the bottom of their emails? And the To: field is hidden so I can't see how many people this same email was sent to.
Do they really expect people to fall for this crap? I've gotten fake eBay emails more convincing that this. Not to even mention the basic concept that the UK National Lottery would have some random online sweepstakes that doesn't even require the "winner" to have entered in any way. I could come up with a better spam scam than this in my sleep.
I've recieved an email informing me that I've won 250,000 pounds sterling in the UK National Lottery online Sweepstakes International Program. Apparently my email address was randomly chosen an assigned lucky numbers which resulted in me matching 5 (of 6) plus the bonus. It even lists what my numbers were. I just have to fill out a little form included in the text of the email asking Name, Age, Sex, Age again?, Marital Status, Tel/Fax, Address, and Annual Income. Then my winnings will be available for me from their European payment offices.
The sender email is <mrbrianhunt@katamail.com>. Oddly, I would've expected soandso@lottery.co.uk or at least something similar. The form info is to be sent to a different email <steveblake1@hutchcity.com> also not very official sounding. And at the very bottom is a link for http://voice.repubblica.it. Why would the UK National Lottery have a link to an Italian website at the bottom of their emails? And the To: field is hidden so I can't see how many people this same email was sent to.
Do they really expect people to fall for this crap? I've gotten fake eBay emails more convincing that this. Not to even mention the basic concept that the UK National Lottery would have some random online sweepstakes that doesn't even require the "winner" to have entered in any way. I could come up with a better spam scam than this in my sleep.



Comment