RPG Maker Pavilion

RPG Maker Pavilion (http://www.pavilionboards.com/forum/index.php)
-   RPG Maker 2 Full Games (http://www.pavilionboards.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Psychosis (http://www.pavilionboards.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30132)

dragaron 03-10-2016 10:09 PM

Psychosis
 
1 Attachment(s)
Summary: You wake up disoriented in a mysterious realm. As you explore your fragmented memories, you will unlock achievements and add pages to your journal, which in turn helps you to recollect your past. Scripted completely from scratch, this game features innovative game mechanics, a customizable menu system, achievements, rumble feedback, and a polished presentation.

03-20-16 Update:
1] Fixed a few grammatical and spelling errors.
2] Minor adjustments made to journal.
3] Added new setting in Lights Off to choose puzzle complete animation.

06-26-16 Update:
1] The VFX and control scheme for the journal has changed in Campfire Souls, and a glitch that rarely would prevent the page number from displaying in the journal was fixed.
2] The Switch Hunters' unique menu option Display Map has been changed to Fast Travel. Now you can instantly warp to any one of the 10 available areas, as well as check each area's clear status and best score. You will now spawn at a predetermined location in the most recently visited area when re-loading Switch Hunters at a later time (instead of always spawning in the first area). The HUD has been adjusted to include the current area's best score. Current area's step counter will now max out at 999; total step counter will continue to accumulate indefinitely, though.
3] In Senseless Maze, an issue was fixed regarding the maze generator which prior to the fix, would generate a few walls at different impassable heights.
4] Lights Off now has two new settings to display current puzzle's move count and/or best score. Also, current puzzle's move counter will now max out at 999.
5] Added Sequencer, a fully featured beats/music sequencer, in the Games menu. It features: Five sequences, with each sequence consisting of three, 24-frame tracks. 13 instruments to choose from, each with 25 pitch variations. Instruments include piano, organ, flute, ocarina, harp, violin, banjo, guitar, bass, snare, cymbal, drum 1, and drum 2 (altogether, 325 different sounds). Ability to adjust starting and ending frames for each sequence, as well as wait time between frames. Fully functional copy/paste function, with the option to copy/paste a unit, frame, track, or entire sequence. Playback options include unit, frame, sequence, or all five sequences in sequential order. Ability to choose from three different color schemes.
6] Minor adjustments to a few of the help menus for various games. A lot of text was modified to reflect the changes listed above.
7] Standardized and adjusted the alignment of some display VFX.

07-24-16 Update:
1] When customizing menu theme, 2nd and 4th Frame/BG settings no longer affect tint.
2] Adjusted and optimized a few menu themes.
3] Data options are now legible even if message text color is black.

Note: Feedback is highly welcomed. Let me know what you liked and didn't like. It is a Slot00 game. Newest version is always the one that is uploaded. Screenshots may reflect an older version.

Screenshots: http://www.rpgmmag.com/rmvault/rm2/games/224/psychosis

Drew 03-11-2016 09:50 AM

Re: Psychosis
 
Haven't fully finished the game, went through all games just to see them. Holy crap man! You put a lot of effort into each one! I'll give a full review once I finish it completely. The only gripe I have is, I have no clue what to do in Switch Hunters, I read the tips and such and I just don't know what to do.

dragaron 03-11-2016 10:39 AM

Re: Psychosis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Drew (Post 685028)
Haven't fully finished the game, went through all games just to see them. Holy crap man! You put a lot of effort into each one! I'll give a full review once I finish it completely. The only gripe I have is, I have no clue what to do in Switch Hunters, I read the tips and such and I just don't know what to do.

Thanks for the positive words! The task in Switch Hunters is to trigger the ten switches in each area from red to green in as few of steps as possible, but this requires teamwork (press TRI to do a stack first).

Once stacked, rotate your active character with L1 or R1, switch active character with UP or DWN, and then press X when either character is in front of a red switch to trigger it. Let me know if all of that makes sense, and if not, I might have to put clearer instructions into the game's Help section.

Drew 03-11-2016 11:10 AM

Re: Psychosis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dragaron (Post 685029)
Thanks for the positive words! The task in Switch Hunters is to trigger the ten switches in each area from red to green in as few of steps as possible, but this requires teamwork (press TRI to do a stack first).

Once stacked, rotate your active character with L1 or R1, switch active character with UP or DOWN, and then press X when either character is in front of a red switch to trigger it. Let me know if all of that makes sense, and if not, I might have to put clearer instructions into the game's Help section.

Like, hrmm I've tried that and it doesn't seem to work.

dragaron 03-11-2016 11:55 AM

Re: Psychosis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Drew (Post 685030)
Like, hrmm I've tried that and it doesn't seem to work.

Are you on an emulator? If so, the game is glitched like crazy because the RPGM2 software itself isn't fully compatible with the emulator. When you load Switch Hunters, do you see the HUD elements (such as "Switch", "Area 01", "Steps: "... etc.)?

Drew 03-11-2016 12:03 PM

Re: Psychosis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dragaron (Post 685031)
Are you on an emulator? If so, the game is glitched like crazy because the RPGM2 software itself isn't fully compatible with the emulator. When you load Switch Hunters, do you see the HUD elements (such as "Switch", "Area 01", "Steps: "... etc.)?

Yep and everything shows up fine.http://i64.tinypic.com/2ui7otf.jpg

Maybe I'm missing something

dragaron 03-11-2016 12:13 PM

Re: Psychosis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Drew (Post 685033)
Yep and everything shows up fine... ...Maybe I'm missing something

I just tried on PCSX2 v1.4.0, and also v121 (r5875) since you mentioned before that you use the latter due to keyboard support, and both showed the VFX as well. When the VFX don't show, it indicates a hardware/software issue I ran into but fixed, which probably dealt with the software's inability to clear the memory cache or something. Shutting the PS2 off and restarting it would fix that issue. But, you are running into something different.

Can you stack characters with TRI? If so, have the rear character (the guy in blue) stand right next to a red switch. Rotate camera so switch can be seen. Press TRI to stack. Press DWN to select bottom character, then rotate with R1 until he is facing the red switch. Then press X. Does the switch turn green?

Drew 03-11-2016 12:16 PM

Re: Psychosis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dragaron (Post 685034)
I just tried on PCSX2 v1.4.0, and also v121 (r5875) since you mentioned before that you use the latter due to keyboard support, and both showed the VFX as well. When the VFX don't show, it indicates a hardware/software issue I ran into but fixed, which probably dealt with the software's inability to clear the memory cache or something. Shutting the PS2 off and restarting it would fix that issue. But, you are running into something different.

Can you stack characters with TRI? If so, have the rear character (the guy in blue) stand right next to a red switch. Rotate camera so switch can be seen. Press TRI to stack. Press DWN to select bottom character, then rotate with R1 until he is facing the red switch. Then press X. Does the switch turn green?

Yeah. Ok cool I got it. I wasn't in the right spot it seems.

dragaron 03-11-2016 12:20 PM

Re: Psychosis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Drew (Post 685035)
Yeah. Ok cool I got it. I wasn't in the right spot it seems.

If I had to guess, you probably lined up the lead person (the guy in red) with the switch, and then pressed TRI (which caused the lead person to stack on top of the rear person), which in turn changed your team's position one space away from the switch. Sounds complicated, but after just a few switches, you'll get the knack of how to move and position yourself.

Sunstorm93 04-08-2016 12:31 PM

Re: Psychosis
 
This game was a lot of fun. REALLY enjoyed the "Mediocre Man" game due to its callback to my favorite Blue Bomber boss battles. I may have run into a similar issue with the switch game, but all of the games were pretty fun! Some serious brain teasers are pretty hard to come by, and I can't believe you figured out how to change font and rumble without the x Menu. That's really advanced stuff!

dragaron 04-08-2016 03:16 PM

Re: Psychosis
 
Sunstorm, thanks for playing and providing feedback!

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunstorm93 (Post 685424)
...I may have run into a similar issue with the switch game...

If two players experienced similar issues, I might have to rethink that particular game. Is it completely unintuitive (not user friendly), or just poorly explained in the help menu? Any suggestions from a player's perspective?

**edit**
Happy Birthday Sunstorm93!

Drew 04-09-2016 12:23 AM

Re: Psychosis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunstorm93 (Post 685424)
This game was a lot of fun. REALLY enjoyed the "Mediocre Man" game due to its callback to my favorite Blue Bomber boss battles. I may have run into a similar issue with the switch game, but all of the games were pretty fun! Some serious brain teasers are pretty hard to come by, and I can't believe you figured out how to change font and rumble without the x Menu. That's really advanced stuff!

Yes I've been meaning to ask, How did you get the rumble to work without going into the x menu?

dragaron 04-09-2016 12:51 AM

Re: Psychosis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Drew (Post 685441)
Yes I've been meaning to ask, How did you get the rumble to work without going into the x menu?

The rumble feature still has to initially be enabled via the default X menu, but after that my custom menu system handles everything else. Unfortunately, that initial enablement must happen through the default X menu because it is hardcoded, unless the game file was distributed with an associated save file that has the vibration function already enabled (which in my case, it wasn't). Does all of that make sense?

Drew 04-09-2016 12:55 AM

Re: Psychosis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dragaron (Post 685442)
The rumble feature still has to initially be enabled via the X menu, but after that my custom menu system handles everything else. Unfortunately, that initial enablement must happen through the X menu because it is hardcoded, unless the game file was distributed with an associated save file with the vibration function already activated. Does all that make sense?

Ah yeah, I get ya. Dang. Silly RPGM2 forcing you to use their defaults!

dragaron 04-09-2016 01:05 AM

Re: Psychosis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Drew (Post 685443)
Ah yeah, I get ya. Dang. Silly RPGM2 forcing you to use their defaults!

I am assuming that you and Sunstorm enabled the rumble feature from the default X menu and just forgot having done so. As far as I know, I didn't intentionally or accidentally figure out how to circumvent the default X menu vibration function thing.

Sunstorm93 04-09-2016 11:28 AM

Re: Psychosis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dragaron (Post 685444)
I am assuming that you and Sunstorm enabled the rumble feature from the default X menu and just forgot having done so. As far as I know, I didn't intentionally or accidentally figure out how to circumvent the default X menu vibration function thing.


Ah. That font thing though is also cool. Howd you figure that out?

dragaron 04-09-2016 12:14 PM

Re: Psychosis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunstorm93 (Post 685450)
Ah. That font thing though is also cool. Howd you figure that out?

That was actually easier than it seems (using the scripting command to change the font). The problem was in getting both font choices to work seemlessless in ALL cases of displaying text. That was a huge pain, and required countless hours of trial and error. I skipped the italic fonts, because they look pixeled (ugly) and required too much space per character.

I appreciate you and Drew noticing my efforts. Thanks!

dragaron 06-26-2016 07:58 PM

Re: Psychosis
 
Hey Drew, Sunstorm93, and whoever else, I added a pretty cool beats/music sequencer to Psychosis in the latest update. Let me know what any of you think about it.

Drew 07-06-2016 01:20 PM

Re: Psychosis
 
Holy crap! That is awesome! Not too familiar with sequencers but I'm assuming it's to make your own music? Either way, props man!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.